PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Uninstalled in order to reinstall and now i'm stuck

angelsaint02
November 13th, 2009, 06:27 AM
Okay I am new to linux and ubuntu, I set up my system a few weeks ago with 9.04 and loved all the functionality of this OS and the whole movement of linux and sharing and developing as a community.

Here is where I messed up though and now need some help if anyone can crack this situation for me.

I was upgrading to 9.10 and near the end of the upgrade process I had to close the laptop to head back home from work and when I opened the laptop up again the system was not loading ubuntu, but I could get into vista. So I decided to delete the partition before I read that you should not do that first to perform an uninstall.

So now that the partition is deleted I get an error when booting my machine:GRUB error 22.
I have already read other forums on how to correct this error, however my machine is a HP and I do not have the installation disc or a recovery disc to repair the MBR.

What I do have is an external enclosure which I have used to slave the drive from my laptop to another machine. I can access all my files and I can see both the recovery partition and the main partition this way and want to know if there is a way to repair the MBR from the command line somehow using the device externally.

any help would be very appreciated and if worse comes to worse I have backed up my stuff and will resort to formating the main partition and just doing a clean install.

ShadowMage
November 13th, 2009, 08:59 AM
Hi,

I'm not exactly sure how (if possible) to repair it like that, but, if you do decide to do a clean install of Ubuntu it should also reinstall grub for you (unless you tell it not to).