PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Issues with libstdc++5 Fixed!

flyguy97
November 13th, 2009, 05:55 AM
All,

I know a lot of people using proprietary and/or older software are having problems with Ubuntu's decision to remove support for libstdc++5 in Ubuntu 9.10. As a open-source developer I faced a similar situation when I was trying to support a proprietary (but free) p2p video streaming client (see http://code.google.com/p/sopcast-player). I created packages for the 32-bit, 64-bit and lpia architectures of the libstdc++5 library as well as a 64-bit wrapper library for the 32-bit package called lib32stdc++5 (useful for running 32-bit apps on 64-bit platforms). Be advised, the lib32stdc++5 is only available on the amd64 platform, not the ia64 (although nothing is stopping you from downloading the source package and compiling for yourself). Please see my PPA page (https://launchpad.net/~jason-scheunemann/+archive/ppa) for instructions on how to install.

Cheers,
Jason

coldReactive
November 13th, 2009, 07:21 AM
source for one arch may not compile on another. I've had that issue before.

By the way, make sure to tell people HOW to compile for a different arch and WHAT PACKAGES THEY NEED TO INSTALL. It's infuriating to compile and have 10+ packages you need to install extra, and each one has to be told to you by re-re-re-re-re-re making/configing the source.

flyguy97
November 13th, 2009, 09:30 AM
source for one arch may not compile on another. I've had that issue before.

By the way, make sure to tell people HOW to compile for a different arch and WHAT PACKAGES THEY NEED TO INSTALL. It's infuriating to compile and have 10+ packages you need to install extra, and each one has to be told to you by re-re-re-re-re-re making/configing the source.

coldReactive,