PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to create a Windows Virtual Machine in Ubuntu from an existing installation?

giyad
November 13th, 2009, 01:12 AM
I currently have an installation of Windows Vista on an internal drive. This is my default OS as I am new to Linux and Ubuntu. I've installed Ubuntu 9.04, and I was wondering if it would be possible for me to run the existing Windows partition as a virtual machine from within Ubuntu??

I already have a copy of VMware Workstation if that helps.

I found this link (http://imrannazar.com/Running-a-Windows-Partition-in-VMware), and this one (http://www.linuxquestions.org/linux/answers/Applications_GUI_Multimedia/Howto_run_Windows_with_VMware_Player_in_Linux_for_ free), but they seem outdated and they also don't take into account that I have VMware Workstation. Would it be easier with VM Workstation, or should I follow those steps? Or is there a better way to go about this?

audiomick
November 13th, 2009, 01:21 AM
Hi.
I read something about this a while back. I believe it is possible, I think it was a function of VM Ware or one of the other Virtualisation programs.
Do a bit more searching... :-)

giyad
November 13th, 2009, 04:04 AM
Hi.
I read something about this a while back. I believe it is possible, I think it was a function of VM Ware or one of the other Virtualisation programs.
Do a bit more searching... :-)
Well, I've got my Boot Camp partition of Windows working on my Mac with Parallels, it was extremely easy to set up.

It doesn't look to be that easy with vmware on linux, and I don't want to buy Parallels for Linux now (cuz I just got vmware), so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

Mark Phelps
November 13th, 2009, 04:55 AM