PDA

View Full Version : Get started with MySql

Ozitraveller
January 30th, 2005, 05:11 AM
Anyone got any recommendations for getting started with MySql. I've had some experience with MSSql Server.

flyfishin
January 30th, 2005, 05:31 AM
Install it and head over to the mysql.com site and click on the Developer link and the documentation section.

defkewl
February 17th, 2005, 08:38 AM
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/

Ozitraveller
February 18th, 2005, 03:11 AM
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/

Thanks. I've been there, and it is generally useful. I'm really looking for a small tutorial like article to get me started. Some that goes through an install, how to configure the Administrator, start/stop service, and setup an existing database.

dataw0lf
February 18th, 2005, 03:15 AM
http://www.devshed.com/c/a/MySQL/Beginning-MySQL-Tutorial/

Although MySQL is often touted as a great beginner SQL database system (and I agree), be aware of SQLite (good for templating and simple stuff) and Postgres (for when you start _really_ learning SQL).

dataw0lf

Ozitraveller
February 18th, 2005, 03:24 AM

Although MySQL is often touted as a great beginner SQL database system (and I agree), be aware of SQLite (good for templating and simple stuff) and Postgres (for when you start _really_ learning SQL).

dataw0lf

Thanks dataw0lf!

I'm ok with sql, I work with MS SqlServer, access, and I have done some work (a while back) on Oracle. So using the command-line for sql is now almost forgotten.

Firebird looks ok too....

blixtra
February 18th, 2005, 08:35 PM
Getting started with MySQL is really easy. First you want to install the mysql server. Then you can start the server with this command:

sudo /etc/init.d/mysql start

Then, because intially the root user has no password, we want to set the password like this:

mysqladmin -u root password myPassword

You can now login to the mysql server with this:

mysql -u root -p

You'll need to type in the password that you entered earlier.