PDA

View Full Version : Hopefully easy Glade question re GtkEntryBuffer

M4rotku
November 12th, 2009, 09:29 PM
Hey guys,

I'm trying to build an interface with glade and it's my first time starting a GtkBuilder from scratch. I am finding the buffer things rather confusing. I have it down for the most part except for this one. I have a GtkEntry and it needs a GtkEntryBuffer and I know this makes me sound like an idiot, but I can't find the GtkEntryBuffer anywhere in the menu. I tried using a GtkTextBuffer for it, but I couldn't load it. Can anyone tell me where to look in the menu. I think I've gone through all of the options I've been able to find.

Much thanks,
M4rotku

M4rotku
November 13th, 2009, 10:20 PM
bump, still can't find how I'm supposed to do it.

M4rotku
November 15th, 2009, 06:39 PM
bump

M4rotku
November 17th, 2009, 02:37 PM
Well, I thought that this would be easy. If itīs something really obvious, donīt be shy to point it out.

G|N|
November 17th, 2009, 03:36 PM
What language are you using?
I looked on the web and i did not find a lot of information about a GtkEntryBuffer. If you only want to show or get text in an entry, there is no need for a GtkEntryBuffer.

I also think that if you really need it, you have to add it in your code and not in your glade file.

Show us your code or tell us what you are trying to do.

M4rotku
November 17th, 2009, 08:32 PM
I am using python, but this is still all within the glade file. I am using GTKbuilder for the glade type. I am going to include snapshots that will hopefully show what is going on. I canīt really explain it better in words, because Iīve never used gtkbuilder before.

The first screenshot shows the whole glade window with the buffer option and the button I pressed to get to the second screenshot.

All I want to do is put a default string in the GtkEntry.

M4rotku
November 19th, 2009, 07:31 PM
bump

M4rotku
November 23rd, 2009, 07:23 PM
bump, still lost and confused.

kknd
November 24th, 2009, 01:13 AM