PDA

View Full Version : Debian Forum?



ocr14a
November 12th, 2009, 09:04 PM
Hi.
In trying to get a particular application to work, I found out that I need to run it on pure Debian instead of Ubuntu (something about lib files & links)....it's been a big run-around, but anyway....

I have the latest version of Debian installed. I went into 'Network' from the Administration menu within the GUI and can't change the TCP/IP settings.

I really love Ubuntu and have really enjoyed and benefited from this forum, but now I need some help with Deb.

So, is there a forum somewhere for Debian like there is for Ubuntu?



...or, is there anyone willing to help me with Deb?

Странник
November 12th, 2009, 09:06 PM
http://forums.debian.net/

But try irc also

ocr14a
November 12th, 2009, 10:22 PM
Doh! :P
Thanks.

I don't know how I missed that. I looked all over on their site, and didn't see anything about forums.

In fact, just now, I even did a Google 'site' search for the word "forum" and it didn't show up in the hits there either.

What's up with that?

HappyFeet
November 12th, 2009, 10:25 PM
What's up with that?

This is what's up. Click this link (http://lmgtfy.com/?q=debian+forums).

ocr14a
November 12th, 2009, 10:50 PM
This is what's up. Click this link (http://lmgtfy.com/?q=debian+forums).

Ya, thanks...I see that now, but why wouldn't it be on their home page?

Sorry, no matter how much anyone wants to poke at me, I don't understand that.

tjwoosta
November 12th, 2009, 10:59 PM
I found it pretty easily from the debian home page. Three clicks actually.

1.
http://omploader.org/tMnI3aA (http://omploader.org/vMnI3aA)

2.
http://omploader.org/tMnI3aQ (http://omploader.org/vMnI3aQ)

3.
http://omploader.org/tMnI3ag (http://omploader.org/vMnI3ag)


That said, its no big deal. I miss things like this all the time. :)

ocr14a
November 13th, 2009, 04:07 PM
Ya, I get it already.
I'm just saying it's odd (to me) that it's not right there on the home page of the Debian site.

When I clicked the link called Support, I did not see anything about a forum. So, I went on elsewhere (to the Ubuntu forum; figuring someone in here would know and be able to tell me without much harm done.....apparently there are a lot more attitudes on this forum than I realized....oh wait....these are humans I'm dealing with....sorry, I forgot).

Why would it make sense to make people click Support, then click web sites and then finally find the link to the forum.

Again, sorry, but it just seems odd to me.

I know you said no big deal, and I agree, it's no big deal.....that's why I'm wondering why some people have to be such pricks (not saying you) when someone comes around asking a question.

suitedaces
November 13th, 2009, 04:39 PM
Glad you found it ok.I miss things like that far too often myself.

ocr14a
November 13th, 2009, 11:13 PM
Glad you found it ok.I miss things like that far too often myself.

Again, I didn't 'miss' anything.
It wasn't there on the home page to be missed in the first place. :)

koenn
November 13th, 2009, 11:27 PM
Ya, thanks...I see that now, but why wouldn't it be on their home page?

Sorry, no matter how much anyone wants to poke at me, I don't understand that.

because they assume that if you come to their site for support, you will click "support".

They also think there are several ways to support users, and different users may look for different sorts of support, so they list them and think you will choose.



Pretty elitist bunch over there, I tell you.

howefield
November 13th, 2009, 11:36 PM
Three clicks actually.

2 clicks is all it takes. :)

After clicking support, click on the direct link "Debian User Forums"

You're right. It is pretty easy.

tjwoosta
November 14th, 2009, 12:12 AM
lol, what are you kidding, that would require scrolling ;)

ocr14a
November 14th, 2009, 02:01 AM
because they assume that if you come to their site for support, you will click "support".

They also think there are several ways to support users, and different users may look for different sorts of support, so they list them and think you will choose.

Pretty elitist bunch over there, I tell you.

Yes. I understand this.
Remember, I didn't say anything against their placement of the forum link until folks here started poking at me.

I still don't understand why a fellow can't just come in here, ask a question and get a straight answer without all the attitude.


2 clicks is all it takes. :)

After clicking support, click on the direct link "Debian User Forums"

You're right. It is pretty easy.

](*,):lol::lolflag:
agreed


lol, what are you kidding, that would require scrolling ;)

:lol::lolflag:

ssam
November 14th, 2009, 02:26 AM
whats the application? is it opensource? is there a source deb in debian or someplace else?

it may possible to rebuild a ubuntu package for it quite easily using Prevu (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Prevu).

also there is a plan for debian squeeze and ubuntu lucid (both due next spring), to have a very similar set of package version. making it much easier to use each others packages.

ocr14a
November 14th, 2009, 05:36 PM
whats the application? is it opensource? is there a source deb in debian or someplace else?

it may possible to rebuild a ubuntu package for it quite easily using Prevu (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Prevu).

also there is a plan for debian squeeze and ubuntu lucid (both due next spring), to have a very similar set of package version. making it much easier to use each others packages.

It's OpManager from ManageEngine.
The Windows version installed and ran just fine, and I was trying to migrate from Windows to Ubuntu.

I spent a lot of time on their forum getting help with that process, but it kept coming up with road blocks....go here and do this next.....then edit this file like this......then remove this....then roll over and bark.......got a bit sickening after a while.

Finally, I asked which distrib of Linux I could install their Linux version of OpManager on and they said either Debian or RH.
So, I decided to download Deb and give that a try.

However, I then ran into goofiness on Deb......I go into the Network settings in the GUI, change then and OK it, and then it's set back to roaming mode.....although apparently it's usign the correct address that I gave it cause I can ping it, etc.

I then searched and found how to manually config TCP/IP with etc/network/interfaces.....did that, it seems to have 'stuck', but still not showing up in the GUI Network settings....I gues that doesn't have to matter....it's just annoying.

Next week at work, I will attempt to install OpManager on my Deb box and see how it goes. Hopefully no more dependency issues or any other hoops to jump through. :)