PDA

View Full Version : Impossible to find a job!?

hellmet
November 12th, 2009, 08:43 AM
I'm a graduate and I've been looking for a job as a Linux Systems Administrator for the past 3-4 months, without any success whatsoever. I've tried Monster, Dice, Indeed, Craigslist, Google. Submitted my resume, redid my resume, applied to several matching jobs, in vain. No calls, or emails or interviews. Just some from consultancies. Useless. My sys admin. internship seems to be of no use either.

Being a non-US-citizen is hard enough. Add to that, several companies are asking for 'solid' or 'strong' experience with some technologies even for entry-level/internship opportunities. Its depressing. Is there something thats lower than 'entry-level' ? How am I to have experience without starting work?

I'm very confident I have the skills to grow into a very efficient Linux sys admin. Give me a chance! Please!
-------------
End of rant
p.s: I'd appreciate it if you could direct me to [I]any jobopening in the field of Sys. Admin.

Exodist
November 12th, 2009, 08:47 AM
I feel your pain. I got laid off work last week as a CNC Machinist and I been putting my resumes in all week. Also put one in for a Linux Admin / Network Technician. I will let you know if they call.. lol

HappinessNow
November 12th, 2009, 08:47 AM
I'm a graduate and I've been looking for a job as a Linux Systems Administrator for the past 3-4 months, without any success whatsoever. I've tried Monster, Dice, Indeed, Craigslist, Google. Submitted my resume, redid my resume, applied to several matching jobs, in vain. No calls, or emails or interviews. Just some from consultancies. Useless. My sys admin. internship seems to be of no use either.