PDA

View Full Version : Don't ever accept "we don't support linux"

mjp29
November 12th, 2009, 04:07 AM
I am intentionally double posting this in the Absolute Beginner Talk forum and the hardware forum as I think it is so important to both beginners looking for help here and those beginners (and even more experienced users) in the Hardware forum to read this.

Don't ever let a company like say Verizon, Linksys, or Suddenlink dismiss you because you are using Ubuntu linux. With 2 of the 3 companies I just mentioned, the call rep. that answered our initial calls, in my opinion, was just trying to take the easy way out and get rid of us with the line "we only support Windows or Mac." If you raise a little hell and even ask eto speak with a manager, you probably will get connected to someone that will solve your problem. I went through days and days of trying to solve problems myself (with my mom and Uncle), when the 2 of the companies above, that I later called back and raised a little hell, did tell me that they could make my linux box work with their hardware. Need I say more?

Read this entire post and my last post in this link and you'll understand.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1313468

I may get another infraction for double posting, but Ubuntu to all, I'm only trying to help all - Ubuntu.

mjp29
November 12th, 2009, 04:08 AM
I am intentionally double posting this in the Absolute Beginner Talk forum and the hardware forum as I think it is so important to both beginners looking for help here and those beginners (and even more experienced users) in the Hardware forum to read this.