PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Best strategy to upgrade from 8.04 to 9.10

jeanrouche
November 11th, 2009, 02:03 PM
Hello,

I am a beginner...

I have already done a full rsync of my home directory to an external drive.

1. Do I have to proceed by successive steps : 8.04 to 8.10 to 9.04 to 9.10 and the a restore of my home directory if needed... And how can I go from 8.04 to 8.10, etc. ?

2. Is it better to make a new "fresh" install of 9.10 without format the home directory? Knowing that in case of trouble I still have the back-up.

3. Or is it better to format the home directory during the install of 9.10 and then to restore one by one the personal directories (and sub-directories) such as Documents, Photos... What happens with the mails (Thunderbird and Evolution)? Is it a specific way to restore the mails, the contacts, the calendars, etc.

Is there aspects that is important to know before to begin ?

Thank you for your help,

Jean
Belgium

howefield
November 11th, 2009, 02:16 PM
You could take the upgrade path, which would mean incremental steps, ie 8.04 > 8.10 > 9.04 > 9.10. This would be very time consuming and more likely to run into problems than a straight reinstall of 9.10.

In your circumstances, I'd do a fresh install, download any updates, install relevant programs, restore /home from your backup and you should be good to go.

All your email and settings are contained in your home folder, so assuming you have it all backed up, including the hidden folders, you shouldn't lose anything.

jeanrouche
November 11th, 2009, 02:38 PM
Thank you for your answer.

Can I consider that the technical content of the Home directory does not change with the successive releases ?