PDA

View Full Version : Anyone keen on 'Go'?

amitabhishek
November 11th, 2009, 07:34 AM
Google software luminaries such as Unix co-creator Ken Thompson believe that they can help boost both computing power and programmers' abilities with an experimental programming language project called Go.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-30685_3-10393210-264.html
http://golang.org/

Personally my info. on this one is next to zero.

Firestem4
November 11th, 2009, 07:39 AM
Damn! Beat me to it! lol. I'm just getting into programming so I doubt i'll pick it up, but this is pretty cool nonetheless.

Heres another good article from trusty Ars Technica
http://arstechnica.com/open-source/news/2009/11/go-new-open-source-programming-language-from-google.ars

amitabhishek
November 11th, 2009, 08:05 AM
WOW!!! An ARM port too...

hobo14
November 11th, 2009, 08:14 AM
Looks interesting.

gnomeuser
November 11th, 2009, 08:29 AM
wow an ugly syntax that is hard to read
wow, no exceptions
wow, no platform bindings or native platform with which to write actual useful programs.

Additionally there is no IDE support, I see no debugger.

The notable absence of exceptions would seem to make error handling messy to me, additionally it is merely a compiler and a language spec right now - the true test is if it can bare a whole platform (e.g. can we one day write what is essentially a GNOME application in Go and retain it's Go'ness or will the design prove to cumbersome and error prone).

So far unimpressed.

amitabhishek
November 11th, 2009, 08:48 AM

Cleaner than cpp IMO.

wow, no platform bindings or native platform with which to write actual useful programs.

It was unveiled yesterday.

handy
November 11th, 2009, 08:51 AM
Good golly, I thought the mod's had let a thread slip through that was asking about people's association with amphetamines.

Thankfully I was wrong. :)

CJ Master
November 11th, 2009, 09:01 AM
Cleaner than cpp IMO.