PDA

View Full Version : Can't get TV-out working with NVIDIA FX5200 in MythTV

bglaze1
November 11th, 2009, 07:32 AM
I have been banging my head against the wall off and on for a couple of months now, I have been trying to get the TV Out function to work on my NVIDIA FX5200 that I have running Mythbuntu but to no avail. If anyone has experience getting this working, I would love to hear from you. Maybe you can point me in the right direction. As I said I am struggling here. I have the NVIDIA proprietary drivers installed, (I got started using the configuring TV Output wiki page then I moved to the running MythTV dual-headed and got a little over my head.) When I connect the S-Video output to the TV, I get a black screen no matter how many different things I try. I tried playing around with my xorg.conf file, and the instructions I followed weren't cutting it, I was a little confused and my normal playback on the monitor became all choppy, so I dropped all my changes and reverted back to the original. So any thoughts, a good how-to, or help you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

SiHa
November 11th, 2009, 10:57 AM
You need something like:
set "UseDisplayDevice" "TV"
set "TVStandard" "PAL"
set "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
In one of the sections of your xorg.conf. I can't remember where, I'm afraid, but if you google it you'll probably find the right place.

Are you using the correct cable? My first Myth setup was with an FX5200, which I bought off ebay without the special cable that comes with it. Assuming your card is the same, you'll find the plug on the card isn't actually an S-Video plug, but a combination connector that can do S-Vid, Composite and Component.

fussler
November 11th, 2009, 03:43 PM
in Mythtv 0.22. At installation it asks if i want TV-OUT with nvidia.
The first time i installed I did select this option but then my monitor did now give output.
As it is harder to configure the whole Mythtv on a normal TV, i choose no.