PDA

View Full Version : What is this Microsoft-Linux study I am hearing about?

K.Mandla
February 18th, 2006, 04:19 AM
I had a conversation with our head techie in the office today. It came about because he gave me an old Microsoft wireless card that I use to surf the Internet on an old laptop, a Presario 1020, with Slackware 10.2. He found it hilarious that it was in use at all, let alone the irony of using Linux with a Microsoft product.

When the conversation shifted, he started talking about "independent" research that showed the average sysadmin taking seven times as long to accomplish the same task in Linux as in Microsoft.

I'll repeat that: According to him and the "independent" study -- I'm stressing the word "independent" here, because he did -- it takes seven times to do many of the system chores in Linux as in Windows.

Now I'm not a systems administrator. I'm not even a techie. I'm just a hobbyist, and I'm very new to Linux. But add to that the fact that this man has been working with computers for as long as I've been alive. He's very knowledgable, to say the least, and so I would expect him to know his stuff. But I also don't know what "tasks" would be included, or what kind of hardware or networks were "tested."

In short, it smelled like a mixture of BS and FUD to me.

But rather than dismiss it out of hand, I thought I'd at least ask if anyone had heard of such a study, and if I could read it for myself. I've gone to Google, but as you might imagine, I can hardly refine my keywords enough to come up with something fruitful.

And so, for the mean time, I remain extremely suspicious. Please set me straight, if you can.

weasel fierce
February 18th, 2006, 04:27 AM
I heard that you can get hairy palms from... er... nevermind.

mstlyevil
February 18th, 2006, 04:27 AM