PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Crazy Partitioning

iamgeniusrnti
November 10th, 2009, 06:35 PM
So as a newb, I bought me an Acer One D250 Notebook and downloaded UNR to a thumbrive using Uunetbootin (mispelled?). My intent was to triple boot XP, Ubuntu and BT3.

Booted the thumbdrive and started Parted. Shrunk my XP partition to 40 GB on my 160 GB HD.

Then I mapped out partitions as follows:

-SDA 1 - 7G - Premade Rescue for XP
-SDA 2 - Primary 40G - XP
-SDA 3 - Primary 30G - Ubuntu
-SDA 4 - Logical
--SDA 5 - Primary 30 G - BT3
--SDA 5 - Linux Swap - 10G
--SDA 6 - NTFS "Shared" - 10G
--30G Empty space I didn't know what to do with because I added my numbers wrong.

Installed Ubuntu UNR using guided partitioning without incident. Both OSs appear to be happy and bootable in GRUB. Checked swap using free cmd and the swap is active.

I didn't load BT3 yet, as a matter of fact, I still need to go download it and do research on any problems I'll have to get it working on my hardware.

Then this morning, I had a nagging feeling to check the partitions again. I don't now why--I just felt something was wrong.

So as I ran up the disk manager tool and looked at the screen, I had a flashback of a book I read as a kid called "Best Laid Plans O'Mice and Men" and I was the mouse and Ubuntu was the farmer. This farmer not only mowed down my plans but he mowed my harddrive as well.

For some reason I can't explain, I now have 9 partitions as follows:

-SDA 1 - 7G - Premade Rescue for XP
-SDA 2 - Primary 40G - XP
-SDA 3 - 30 GB - Blank, empty
-SDA 4 - Logical
--SDA 5 - 30 GB - Blank, empty
--SDA 6 - 10 GB Swap, I don't think its using this
--SDA 7 - 10 GB "Shared"
--SDA 8 - 30 GB (ext4) Ubuntu
--SDA 9 - 1.4 GB Swap

I am nearly psoitive I selected side-by-side install and presumed it would have installed it to SDA3 and picked up SDA6 for the swap.

So now what do I do? If I run BT3 off the USB, is it going to see Ubuntu and pick another partition?

snowpine