PDA

View Full Version : What do you use your linux box for?

Joviannm
November 10th, 2009, 08:35 AM
I am wondering what you all are using your Linux boxes for? I am looking for new and interesting things to do with my Linux box.

My current uses are as follows:
1. OpenVPN
2. Ventrilo
3. FTP
4. Torrents

Thanks all in advanced!

Lvcoyote
November 10th, 2009, 08:38 AM
I just use mine for messing around with, it's more of a hobby use than anything ele. I'm still relatively new to the Linux scene, but I enjoy the heck out of messing around with it and seeing what it can do.

synicalx
November 10th, 2009, 08:49 AM
Good question!

At the moment I only have a full Ubuntu install on my netbook so I'm a bit limited to what I can use it for, but I'm looking at building a media server for my house using Ubuntu or maybe some other distro.

But at the moment I use Linux mainly for web browsing, chatting, on-the-go office stuff and of course tinkering :D

Bodsda
November 10th, 2009, 09:01 AM
I am wondering what you all are using your Linux boxes for? I am looking for new and interesting things to do with my Linux box.

My current uses are as follows:
1. OpenVPN
2. Ventrilo
3. FTP
4. Torrents

Thanks all in advanced!

Web Server
File sharing server
Internet connection sharing
Programming
Building a Linux From Scratch

It's also my primary operating system so I use it for web browsing, music, downloads, email, gaming etc.

Kind regards,
Bodsda

irishbreakfast
November 10th, 2009, 09:57 AM
Home/Education/Office
Firefox, Thunderbird, OO (work and home)
Video (only machine in house that can connect to TV, converting stuff to DVD), Music playing
Torrent
Gnucash

jimmy the saint
November 10th, 2009, 09:59 AM