PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Display severely screwed up

pointblank941
November 10th, 2009, 06:31 AM
I am a newbie to Ubuntu so go easy on me. I have a Compaq N600c with ubuntu 9.10 and am having severe display issues, there are color lines, artifacts, and it is going somewhat slow. I looked up the drivers but they were all for Windows xp/vista. How do i fix this?

Mark Phelps
November 10th, 2009, 05:45 PM
According to Google, your machine has a Mobility Radeon AGP chipset -- which could be bad news because (1) ATI/AMD dropped support for all but the current chips back in May, and (2) I've read there are additional video problems with ATI chipsets using 9.10.

To see if you're running the restriced ATI driver, open a terminal and enter "fglrxinfo". If you're running that driver, that could be the problem and then, you need to remove it and replace it with the open source driver, as shown below:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver

If you're not running the restricted driver, then you're in a real bind because you're already running the open source driver by default.

You could then check on the Phronix forums about the open source drivers to see if they have any tweaks you could try. They do a lot of testing of ATI drivers.

pointblank941
November 11th, 2009, 03:50 AM
I dont have that fglrx driver installed....
Ill look for something on that website you mentioned

mr_steve
November 11th, 2009, 04:02 AM
I am a newbie to Ubuntu so go easy on me. I have a Compaq N600c with ubuntu 9.10 and am having severe display issues, there are color lines, artifacts, and it is going somewhat slow. I looked up the drivers but they were all for Windows xp/vista. How do i fix this?

I have several of this exact laptop. It does indeed have a Radeon Mobility chipset. There are two things you should do to get this machine working decent.

First, turn of desktop effects. Go to System->Preferences->Appearance. On the Visual Effects tab, select None.