PDA

View Full Version : The Thing about Linux

helloyo
November 10th, 2009, 04:49 AM
I have been using Linux for a long time, and after a short hiatus back to the Windows world I have been drawn back in. In my work as a web developer I have been using Linux everyday, which has led to it returning to my desktop on a part time basis.

I would like to make it clear that Linux works. There is no denying that anymore; it is a very powerful tool that when harnessed in the right way gives great results. On the other hand, a large portion of its use is for ideological reasons. This would be the category that I usually fall in. In my work environment it is the right tool for the job for many reasons, but this isn’t the case at home.

At home Windows 7 undoubtedly gives me a better experience. Not in all areas, but certainly overall. So why do I always find myself going back to give the latest Linux a try? For me it is because I want something that was created based on a philosophy, not on a business model. Something that is fair and open.

There lies my problem. Of course these are good reasons, but are they really relevant? Are we actually benefiting from choosing products not on their merits but on their philosophy? We would all like to live in a fair world and there are very few outlets for us to express that. I cannot buy an “open” car, but is that to my detriment?

I guess what I’m asking is, does choosing the inferior product for the right reasons serve any purpose or does it stem from a psychology desire to be in control of one little aspect of this chaotic, unfair world?

utnubuuser
November 10th, 2009, 04:54 AM
Proprietary software is better for the poor.

Irihapeti
November 10th, 2009, 05:08 AM
We are not all rational all the time. We do things - at least I do - because we feel like doing them, feel drawn to them, whatever.

I think that life would be awfully boring if everyone were strictly rational, because we'd probably all end up doing the same thing.

Chronon