PDA

View Full Version : Command IR II with 9.10? How easy?

tegwilym
November 10th, 2009, 12:06 AM
I've been using MythDora 5 for about 2 years now, everything works nearly flawlessly, including the serial IR Blaster to change channels on my DirecTV box. (IR blaster was the biggest pain to set up!).

I've build a new Mythbox and would like to run Mythbuntu on this on. My new motherboard does have a serial port, but I need to find a cable and connector for it.
Since serial ports are going out of style, I would like to go with USB on this one if possible. So my question:

Does anyone have any comments/experience/reviews of the Command IR II box? That looks like the USB replacement for my serial irblaster. The web page says its very easy to setup, but I spent weeks working on the IR blaster (only got it working by accident - so I don't touch it now!). Time to upgrade to .22 Mythtv though.
(This one: http://www.commandir.com/content/view/32/48/)

I'm looking for something that is easier and not as archaic as the old serial port to control things.

Thanks!

Tom
- Happy MythTV watcher for 2+ years.

tegwilym
November 19th, 2009, 05:47 AM
Nobody has any comments on this?

santhony
January 11th, 2010, 12:53 AM
Yes.. I did get this to work fairly easy...

As Per the Install Instructions from CommandIR's Website.

The steps I followed for Karmic 64 are...

Install as per instructions for Karmic.
I then installed the sh script install-commandir.sh, listed under mythbuntu instructions.
Make sure you have "setserial" installed, ie sudo apt-get install setserial
Make sure you have "lirc-x" installed, ie sudo apt-get install lirc-x

Make sure your hardware.conf and lircd.conf match what they have listed on the CommandIR site, I'll attach mine to this thread...

I first did the setup with all the dafaults, using Hauppauge remote since I had two of them available... I didn't want to dive in too deep and get any other remote working and other blaster yet, except for both Hauppauge.