PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Display problems with clean install of 9.10

apetty
November 9th, 2009, 02:23 AM
Hi folks,

I have done a clean install to Ubuntu 9.10 on an IBM thinkpad A31 (Pentium 4 processor, ATI's Mobility Radeon 7500). The display didn't work at all (i.e. wouldn't refresh and most applications won't display other than the menu bar) after install. I tried resetting the display size to what it should be (1400 by 1050)- just using the GUI, I am a newbie! I couldn't get that option, but when I resized it smaller (800 by 600 I think) it would work okay, at least to get me out of strife.

I'm guessing this is a driver issue with the ATI Radeon? Please share your thoughts.

ximhot
November 29th, 2009, 05:40 AM
I have the same problem. I upgraded from 9.04 and the display doesn't work. I tried GNOME safe mode and it works fine, just no internet connection under safe mode. So it won't help me.

apetty
November 30th, 2009, 02:14 AM
Yes, likewise - safe mode works, but not particularly useful. Also, the display looks good in the startup window, it's just after I log in that it craps itself. What's going on?

ximhot
December 4th, 2009, 04:55 PM
Same problem with T30! Very annoying. I had to reinstall 9.04. A few hours of fooling with computer and lots of complaint from wife. No fun.

I guess Radeon 7500 is having problem with 9.10. I will wait for the next LTS to try again and will stay with 9.04 for now.

kristofv2002
December 22nd, 2009, 04:19 PM
I had the same with A31P, setting the color depth to 16 (create xorg.conf file) solved the issue

henrikb
December 24th, 2009, 08:26 AM
Got a clean Ubuntu 9.10 (kernel 2.6.31-14-generic) on a Thinkpad A31 (1GB RAM, 1.80GHz) with an ATI Radeon Mobility 7500 card (as reported by lspci).

I had problems with odd stripes on the display and that the system would completely freeze where not even the CapsLook led would respond. Only solution was a hard reboot.