PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] KDE alternative to gconf-editor

schmidtbag
November 9th, 2009, 02:04 AM
So I've been using gnome for several years and ever since the last update, I got fed up with more options being taken away from me. But, one tool I've always liked about gnome was gconf-editor. I've switched to KDE but I haven't found a tool similar to it. I'm aware it works in KDE but is it just as functional? Can it manipulate every little detail including the title bar or what the desktop does, or if the desktop even shows up at all?

I need an advanced graphical tool like gconf-editor, and KDE should definitely come with one native to it.

RedSingularity
November 9th, 2009, 03:32 AM
Look at this (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=955034) thread.

schmidtbag
November 9th, 2009, 04:14 AM
hmm thats it? kinda disappointing. i don't have time to try out kwriteconfig right now but how useful, easy, and practical is it? typically when theres a large collection of features, a command line tool is not going to suffice

RedSingularity
November 9th, 2009, 04:17 AM
Thats what i figured. I am surprised KDE doesn't have a editor like gnome.

tamasrepus
November 9th, 2009, 11:57 AM
AFAIK, no, there is no KDE equivalent. For the specific things you mentioned, see System Settings (except, unfortunately, for the plasma stuff which tends to have it's own separate configuration dialogs).

Most KDE users (including myself) will tell you that the thing they hate the most about GNOME is gconf, so I'll doubt you'll see KDE imitating this anytime soon.

KDE stores most of it's configuration files as flat text files within ~/.kde/share/config/, editable with your favorite text editor. However, there tend not to be hidden settings. Generally, whatever preferences worth having are exposed in application's UI.

schmidtbag
November 9th, 2009, 01:33 PM