PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Boot error

Blue_A10
November 8th, 2009, 09:19 PM
I figured out the main part I was stuck on, please view my latest post. I have a new problem.

I'm new to Linux and I want to install Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala. I downloaded the alternate install DVD .iso for 32-bit systems. I don't have a DVD burner or discs. I used Unetbootin and selected to install the .iso on my 4GB USB drive. When my computer restarted, I had to go into the bios and change the boot device order to make the USB stick first in the list. When my PC restarted afterward, the USB drive started to flash as if it were loading, and the screen just said Boot Error. Every key I pressed would just make it repeat boot error. I removed the USB drive and pressed Esc and the computer booted up Windows XP. I downloaded the iso a second time, and repeated the process, still no luck. Then I used Unetbootin to install it on the hardrive after changing the BIOS back to normal, and it loaded the dual boot screen. I selected Unetbootin, and it started the linux setup menu, but it was downloading an entirely new ubuntu. I stopped the installation after it came up with a network error, and restarted the computer. The next time, I tried it again and it asked me for a CD. I went to the install menu, but I didn't see the normal options ubuntu studio has, which I loaded on sun virtualbox earlier. I want to make a clean install and delete windows XP. I have Hughesnet satellite so I can only download one dvd iso a day during the download period. This is the 3rd day I've been trying to get this to work. I'm not really a tech guru, but I figure things out and understand computers better than most people.

Blue_A10
November 9th, 2009, 12:24 AM
If it helps, my motherboard is ASUS P5NSLI. I'll look up my BIOS later. I know it's awardPhoenix something.

presence1960
November 9th, 2009, 12:37 AM