PDA

View Full Version : New file sharing service!

PorkyPie
November 8th, 2009, 04:12 PM
Hi everyone. I'm a pretty new php developer. I've made a service called "uploadmyfile", which, well... allows you to upload your file :).

I thought you might want to try it out, so you can give it a test run here: http:/www.failtewexford.com/uploadmyfile

It doesn't have any restrictions to how many downloads it can have. It's file limit is 500MB. There's no "account", or anything like that, simply pick a file, and click the "Upload My File!" button.

You'll find your uploaded file at http://www.failtewexford.com/uploadmyfile/uploads/<YOURFILE>

It's a very basic script. What do you think?

Edit: Also, I won't be keeping this service up long, so I am not responsible for data loss.

The Funkbomb
November 8th, 2009, 04:19 PM
You might run into problems when 50 people start uploading untitled.jpg

PorkyPie
November 8th, 2009, 04:21 PM
You might run into problems when 50 people start uploading untitled.jpg

True, I might implement the creating of random numbered folders.

joshdudeha
November 8th, 2009, 04:35 PM
How about you just give the filename a random number, or a suffix that increments, like 01, 02 etc.
then give them the link after :)
would be better than random folders

markp1989
November 8th, 2009, 09:16 PM
it works :) i just uploaded my bootchart. but i do agree that you need to start adding random numbers at the start of every file eg XXXfile.type so other people will be able to add there bootchart lol

v8YKxgHe
November 8th, 2009, 09:49 PM
As a PHP developer who knows a lot about PHP security, and also one to tell people their security issues, I'll step forward and admit what I just did.

You should never ever ever let people upload anything and everything to your server, ever. I just ran any PHP code I liked on your server and I replaced your index.php file with a small bit of something that resembles HTML.