PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Twinview Monitor Positions

mikegeig
November 7th, 2009, 05:30 PM
Hello everyone, I currently have installed Ubuntu 9.10 with an nvidia 9800 GT graphics card installed. I am attempting to setup my twinview and am having some issues.

So far, I can enable both monitors and get twinview working great. The only problem is that my monitors are not side by side, instead one is mounted above the other. Whenever I change the positioning of the secondary monitor inside nvidia-settings, the screen gets all crazy and parts of it go black. The computer doesn't freeze up, but I can't see anything. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

EDIT: If this isn't in the right place, I apologize.

mikegeig
November 9th, 2009, 07:24 PM
Bump, anyone?

Sigma47
November 9th, 2009, 10:19 PM
By all means Im no expert and haven't encountered this myself but, under the nvidia-settings GUI, "gksudo nvidia-settings", have you checked the advanced button and checked that your panning area can contain your resolutions. if you have for example DFP1=1052x768, DFP2=1052x768 you need a panning area of 2104x768 if your monitors are side by side...other than that I am useless. good luck

doas777
November 9th, 2009, 10:23 PM
ok. in nvidia-settings, right next to teh monitor resolutions, there shoudl be a text box called position (may be a dropdown). make sure that your secondary monitor says "Left" or "Right"

if you are looking at numbers (+0, +0) or (+1024, +0) then the position is in terms of offset. set the primary to "absolute" and the secondary to +<firstmonitorwidth>

mikegeig
November 10th, 2009, 05:49 PM
ok. in nvidia-settings, right next to teh monitor resolutions, there shoudl be a text box called position (may be a dropdown). make sure that your secondary monitor says "Left" or "Right"

if you are looking at numbers (+0, +0) or (+1024, +0) then the position is in terms of offset. set the primary to "absolute" and the secondary to +<firstmonitorwidth>