PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Help needed in partitioning! Beginner asks.

ckop64
November 7th, 2009, 12:37 PM
Hello everybody!
I'm a noob in Ubuntu, and need your help in partitioning.
First, here is a screenshot, taken from the LIVE CD, partitioning section.

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/989/screenshottelepts.png

So, as you can see, I have windows 7 installed, and I'd like to keep is as my primary operating system.
I want Ubuntu 9.10 to be selectable from a list (Like grub, or something like that).
Problem is, i have Ubuntu 7.10 installed aswell, but it doesn't work. (so upgrading is not possibile). So right now I want to install Ubuntu 9.10 on the partition of 7.10, like formatting those ext3 partitions that 7.10 has, and install 9.10 on them.
But i don't know how to do that, so that i need help with.

Now, there is no list of operating systems on boot, so my system automatically boots on Windows 7.

Thanks for your help!
ckop64

Note: In case if you can't understand what the installer says, i translate it for you.

"This computer has multipile operating systems installed"
--colorful stripe, showing the partitions--

"where do you want to install Ubuntu 9.10?
" (option 1) Install Ubuntu 9.10 next to the other operating systems, choose from a list which one do you want to boot."
" (option 2) Use the whole hard disk"
" --this erases Windows 7 loader, and Ubuntu 7.10, installs Ubuntu 9.10"
" (option 3) You give the full details of the partitions (Advanced users only!)"
--orange stripe--

Hope this is enough information for you :)

dragonboss
November 7th, 2009, 12:49 PM
You have to go to the manual config part for advanced users only (Don't be too scared by this!) and note the partition your Ubuntu 7.10 is on and select this as as "/" but Please Select The CORRECT Partition. And just to be safe back up your data first(if you haven't already done that)

ckop64
November 7th, 2009, 12:50 PM