PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problams with Fresh Install/Live CD

jfinner1
November 7th, 2009, 06:26 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for a few years now, without many problems. But after the upgrade to Karmic, my computer has been crashing, continuously. So I've decided to go back to Jaunty, since I didn't have any problems with that version. I know that you can't downgrade, so I've backed up all my files to my external HD, burned a Jaunty install disc, and prepared myself for a fresh install. But I keep erroring out during the load of the disc. I checked the disc's integrity, and it came back fine. But when I attempt to run as a live CD, I get a full page of errors that scroll very quickly, then disappear to a blank screen. I eventually have to hard shut down my computer. The only part of the error message I've been able to read is something about SQUASH. I've also tried running the disc as a Live CD on another computer, and had no problems. So it's not the disc, but I don't know what could possibly be wrong with the computer, since it obviously had no problems with Jaunty last week. Also, about 2-3 months ago I wiped out my XP partition and did a fresh Jaunty install on the entire hard drive, with no errors. Can anyone give me any advice on what could be going wrong? Karmic really hates me, and I really want to switch back to Jaunty...

Umang
November 7th, 2009, 06:57 AM
Hi,
I upgraded to Karmic too, and had many many problems (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1312649). A fresh install of Karmic over the current installation fixed everything.

Although, I don't know what is happening in your case, since it's the Jaunty CD you are talking of.

jfinner1
November 7th, 2009, 12:46 PM