PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help installing GRUB

Corgana
November 6th, 2009, 11:17 PM
So I had a hard drive with WinXP and Win7 on it, and I used gparted and deleted the XP partition and expanded 7 (also added "boot" flag to it), and now I get the message "BootMGR is missing"

So I boot up my Ubuntu livecd, and try to install GRUB, but at the command

find /boot/grub/stage1

i get this

Error 15: File not found

Any help? Also I heard I could use ms-sys to fix it, but the latest version (that works with windows 7) isn't listed on synaptic..

Please help, I'm running off a LiveCD

darkod
November 6th, 2009, 11:36 PM
I am no expert in Ubuntu, but if you are running off the live CD and you never had Ubuntu on the hdd, that should mean you never had GRUB/GRUB2 as a bootloader.

Isn't it normal that the find command is giving you file not found?

PS. And why are you trying to install just grub? Simply install Ubuntu if that's what you want and that will install grub too. Your Win7 bootloader should be detected by grub automatically and you will have it as option in the grub menu/list.

doran23
November 6th, 2009, 11:41 PM
do i need a OS on my hard drive to install ubuntu, using a disk. and how would i do that.

darkod
November 7th, 2009, 12:01 AM
By using a disk I assume you mean a CD. No, you don't need to have any OS installed.

But if you plan to have both Windows and Ubuntu on your computer it is usually better Windows to be installed first.

It is also better to sit down first and plan the partitions on your hdd, depending on the hdd size. Ubuntu can choose this for you but you have more control if you do it yourself.

There are plenty of guides on goole. If you get stuck with a direct question, ask.

Corgana
November 7th, 2009, 04:31 AM
I am no expert in Ubuntu, but if you are running off the live CD and you never had Ubuntu on the hdd, that should mean you never had GRUB/GRUB2 as a bootloader.