PDA

View Full Version : What's some fun Ubuntu tools that a tech nerd would get a kick out of?

Roasted
November 6th, 2009, 06:51 PM
I work in the IT field, but mostly in Windows networks. We have a lot of tools, to manage servers, disk usage, uptime, etc. Are there any applications like that that I can add into Ubuntu to manage the status of, say, my Samba services for my file server? Or perhaps a detailed listing of the status of my hard drives, etc? What about a really nice VNC frontend that displays all of the computer names on the network and allows me to pick and choose based on computer name/IP address which one I want to connect to?

Just curious if there's more tools out there for Ubuntu than I'm aware. What do you guys think?

Giblet5
November 6th, 2009, 07:05 PM
I presume you want GUI tools since you come from a Windows background...

I find mrtg (http://oss.oetiker.ch/mrtg/) useful for monitoring routers. And phpmyadmin is a nice way to monitor/admin your MySQL database server.

Everything else is better done from the command line.

You *have* to embrace the command line to get beyond basic functionality on Linux systems.

kripkenstein
November 6th, 2009, 07:07 PM
There are plenty of such tools, probably more than on Windows. But the vast majority will likely be console tools, which might take a little getting used to if you are coming from Windows. It's worth it though (for example, it's often possible to control these tools from scripts, to automate things in a much more easy way than with GUI apps).

For example, for monitoring hard drives there is smartctl, for monitoring cpus there is cpufreq-info, for monitoring the network iftop, etc. etc.

NoaHall
November 6th, 2009, 07:10 PM
Hm, you might want to have a play with Conky.

CJ Master
November 6th, 2009, 07:15 PM
Hm, you might want to have a play with Conky.

I was thinking the same thing.

earthpigg
November 6th, 2009, 07:16 PM
man lshw
example:

sudo lshw | grep product