PDA

View Full Version : Raising female Unix/CS engineers

stoepvats
November 6th, 2009, 02:15 PM
Lately I've been thinking about how we can get more women into the Linux community.

I saw this video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MBqfqcm_BCU , and it describes how we can transform our daughters into real geeks if we use epigenetics the right way.

It made me realize that if we're willing to take the long-haul on this one we can raise are daughters to be more interested in math and technology and of course Linux! I'm a student math teacher and I always thought that girls aren't as good as boys when it comes to math, but I've been proven wrong. So now I'm trying to raise my daughter so she knows that she can be as competent in technology, science and math as boys . She's still a bit young for all that, but she does like Tux (in fact it was one of the first words she said :- ), and sees me working in Linux daily.

So, if we all 'team up' and make lots of girls and realize they have as big a chance to become a geek as boys we might have a shot at 'outbreeding' the competition :-).

pwnst*r
November 6th, 2009, 02:19 PM
what the hell

Tristam Green
November 6th, 2009, 02:20 PM
Sure :rolleyes: invoke prima nocta also :|

koleoptero
November 6th, 2009, 02:21 PM
what the hell
+1

t0p
November 6th, 2009, 02:26 PM
Give your female children things like Meccano and chemistry sets to play with.

There's nothing wrong with a little girl playing with a doll. But if you make it a robotic doll, that Miss Junior can modify and assemble herself, it'll be a definite win.

stoepvats
November 6th, 2009, 02:32 PM
Exactly, that's what I'm trying to say. Some people seem to think girls are for the 'mother' and boys for 'fathers'. I think it's better to just offer them everything, so they actually have the chance to find out the like technology. It's a shame if they never find out if they could be math geniuses.

MelDJ
November 6th, 2009, 02:55 PM