PDA

View Full Version : Have any of you pros completely dumped Win OS?

SMF
February 17th, 2006, 01:20 AM
I was curious as to wether or not any of you pros have dumped Windows and only live in Linux land? I could seriously do with out Windows OS from the way I see how ubuntu has been. I mean sure I love all the nice progs like PaintShop Pro and PhotoShop and all the other millions of Windows Programs I have but honestly I could do with out and it would simplfy my life. What do the experts think and feel about this?

Protex
February 17th, 2006, 01:22 AM
Well I'm fairly new to Linux, and I've ditched Windows completly.

It's entirely up to your comfort level with the OS, will you be able to survive without Windows?

Keep in mind that those nice windows programs can run under WINE, or even better a VMware installation of WindowsXP (which is what I'm doing).

rfruth
February 17th, 2006, 01:27 AM
I don't consider myself a pro or expert but Breezy works so well its now my main computer :)

Coelocanth
February 17th, 2006, 01:27 AM
I'm just new to Ubuntu/Linux, having installed it only a couple days ago. Since then, I think I've only booted Windows once. That being said, I don't think I'll ditch it completely, but one never knows. The more I learn about Linux, the more I like it.

SMF
February 17th, 2006, 01:30 AM
Protex Wow that is awesome and very inspirational. I am not much of a gamer any more, Just downloaded games to kill time.
So you are saying that alot of the programs I have like PSP+ and the likes can be installed on my linux box? I have alot of programs. I mean a lot. Would there be some programs that would not work?
Honestly the way things are going I could kill this Windows XP OS. It is so high maintainace. I know you know what I mean.

Keep talking to me. I am all ears:mrgreen: