PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 9.10 - Visual effects problem

gabe17
November 5th, 2009, 07:32 PM
Hi,

I am using Ubuntu 9.10. Everything is fine, but I have one small problem with it. When I try to allow Visual Effects, it searches for some drivers and then it writes that Dektop effects could not be enabled.

Can somebody help me with my problem?
Thanks.

3Miro
November 5th, 2009, 07:51 PM
Try going to System -> Admin -> Hardware and look for drivers from there.

What video card do you have?

gabe17
November 5th, 2009, 08:05 PM
I tried it...it found an ATI/AMD driver, but if I click "activate", it just shows "Downloading and installing driver..." window for a while and then it do nothing, the driver stays "not activated". My card is Asus Radeon HD3650. What should I do?

3Miro
November 5th, 2009, 08:10 PM
Hm, this should install and then ask you to reboot. I have no experience with ATI/AMD video, so I guess I cannot be of much help.

In any way, once you install the driver, you should be able to run the effects. Search for ATI/AMD driver issues (for your specific video card) and if you cannot find anything, start another tread asking about it.

gabe17
November 5th, 2009, 08:31 PM
Ok, I will try to start a new topic about the driver. Thanks for help.

jward3010
November 5th, 2009, 09:20 PM
I would suggest patience with the downloader. I thought it was fixed, but maybe not. It suffers from a bug where when it's downloading the driver the progress bar doesn't move, when it begins to install the driver you get a sudden jump to 80%. This lack of progress may seem to last for quite a while but something is happening and consider that these drivers can be anything from 50MB up to 120MB so they can take a while to download.

Pauly BC
November 5th, 2009, 09:55 PM
+1 jward3010.