View Full Version : [SOLVED] dv9500 laptop speakers pop constantly

November 5th, 2009, 01:48 AM
I have a HP Pavilion Entertainment pc (dv9500) and today I switched to ubuntu (I believe I have the newest version, 9.10). I had been using vista on the ;aptop for a couple years, and partitioned the computer so that I can run both Windows and ubuntu.

But since the installation started and even now that it is done, the speakers keep making popping noises even when muted. A soft popping noise will start followed by a louder one 3 seconds later. After ten seconds the soft pop happens again. I have tried switching to headphones and separate speakers and I normally use a docking station with its own speaker which it is hooked up into now.

I think it probably needs the driver updated but I can't find a driver for this that will work in ubuntu.

November 5th, 2009, 07:06 AM
Hey Jessica,

I ran into the same problem on my HP DV9000. It is very annoying! Fortunately there is a quick and easy solution. The reason this is happening is on account of a new update to the ALSA sound system. Simply follow the commands below to set it straight.

First, open up the run dialog by hitting Alt+F2

gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

This will bring up that file in a text editor. Ctrl+F to search for "power_save" and it should find a string that reads "power_saver = 10". Simply change this to "power_saver = 0" and save the file. When you reboot the problem is solved!

Hope this works for you,

November 5th, 2009, 07:06 AM
I'm having exactly the same problem on my HP dv9000 with both Ubuntu 9.10 and Kubuntu 9.10. I don't have this problem in Kubuntu 9.04 though.

November 5th, 2009, 07:10 AM
TroyDowling fix above seems to have worked. Thanks!

November 28th, 2009, 08:00 AM
Awesome that worked great! fixed it instantly on my dv6663us, i think this has to do with the model of speakers that these laptops use and drivers that are not quite built for them, thanks