PDA

View Full Version : new 9.10 boots slower than old 9.04

MalphasWats
November 4th, 2009, 09:17 PM
Hi,

I installed 9.10 a day or so after launch as an upgrade to my 9.04. I'm running it on an eee 1000 and I'm really pleased with it overall.

I was excited about the improved boots speeds but find myself a little disappointed. It's not a huge increase, maybe 10 seconds to get to the login prompt and maybe a 5 or so more for a responsive desktop on password, certainly not game-breaking.

Is there anything I can do to try and improve the start up time? where would I start? I'm still fairly new at making linux go, but I'm fairly competent now.

Thanks
-Malphas

MalphasWats
November 5th, 2009, 08:16 AM
I timed booting today and it actually takes almost a full minute longer to boot up under 9.10 than it did 9.04.

Shutting down is blisteringly fast compared to how it used to be!

Anyone have any ideas on how I can speed up my boot time?

werecatomega
November 5th, 2009, 08:20 AM
i've also noticed that the boot seems to be slower, but that was when i upgraded from 9.04. i later did a clean install and it went much faster. i think it might have something to do with grub2 but i'm not sure.

negora
November 5th, 2009, 10:35 AM
I did a clean installation on an Acer Aspire One 110 and the result is the same: 9.10 boots slower than 9.04. I can't understand why.

At the beginning I thought that this slowness only happened when upgrading from 9.04 to 9.10, since I also have a desktop PC with Ubuntu and suffered from this problem (here I installed the "normal flavour" of Ubuntu). But I was wrong, obviously.

MalphasWats
November 5th, 2009, 10:46 AM
i've also noticed that the boot seems to be slower, but that was when i upgraded from 9.04. i later did a clean install and it went much faster. i think it might have something to do with grub2 but i'm not sure.