PDA

View Full Version : Equivalent of package java.net in GNU C library

rbaleksandar
November 4th, 2009, 04:23 PM
Hi, guys. :)

So far, so good. I have made (omho) a big progress in C. The thing I want to do now is to sent a small-sized file (for example a text-file) vie network (sockets, IPs blabla). I want to be able to recieve such too (two-way-transfer so to say). Now in Java this is done with the package java.net, which handles the work with sockets, ports, IPs etc(example: the InetAddress-class which represents IP adress and how it can be handled). The thing is a want to read some data, put it inside a file (sort of a report) and send it via network to another machine. Can someone tell me at least where to look since I'm not an expert in Java, but when it comes to implementing something like that in C...well, you get the point I hope. :D

Thanks a lot! Any explanations and suggestions are welcome. ;)

PS: I was thinking in going through a part of the Wireshark-source but damn that's so complicated. :D

SunSpyda
November 4th, 2009, 04:53 PM
No standard socket libraries exist for C, only 3rd party ones. BSD sockets for UNIX/UNIX-like OSes, and WinSock2 for Windows.

In all honesty, porting between the two is easy. You just have to swap close() for closesocket(), include the ws2_32.lib library (Or your implementation equivalent), and use WSAStartup()/WSACleanup(). There are a few other oddities, but nothing major.

Something like this may be simpler in a higher-level language like a .NET language, JVM language, or one of the other popular dynamic languages like Ruby and Python. They all have portable socket APIs.

There may be some 3rd party who provide portable socket libraries for C, but I personally program sockets on both platforms, & I stick to the native libraries myself.

rbaleksandar
November 4th, 2009, 04:59 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.

1)I want it to be in C. I'm learning this language because I need it. ;)