PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Acer 5920(G) - Karmic tweaks

FokkerCharlie
November 4th, 2009, 10:22 AM
Okey, Dokey, fellow 5920(G) owners!

Here's some tips that may help to make your Karmic experience a little better. Most of the methods described are as per those that worked for Jaunty (see thread here (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=997860), but there are a few new issues that we need to take a look at. Conversely, on my system, the brightness control now works correctly, so I have omitted the steps for fixing this. If it's an issue for anyone else, please let us know.

All the guidance below is what works for me. I am not an expert, and all advice comes with the usual disclaimers!

Part 1: Media Keys

OK, we'll start off with the most complicated bit. We need to patch xserver-xorg-input-synaptics to cope with the media keys.

- Get the sourcecode of syndaemon and build dependencies

apt-get source xserver-xorg-input-synaptics
sudo apt-get build-dep xserver-xorg-input-synaptics

- Patch syndaemon

cd xserver-xorg-input-synaptics-1.1.2
wget "http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=202431&action=view" -O tools/syndaemon.patch
patch tools/syndaemon.c tools/syndaemon.patch

- Configure and make

./autogen.sh
make

Now, we'll make 2 fdi files- one for the media keys, and one for the touchpad proper.

gksu gedit /etc/hal/fdi/policy/touchpad.fdi

Put this in the file, then save:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">

<device>
<match key="info.udi" string="/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/platform_i8042_i8042_AUX3_port_logicaldev_input">
<merge key="info.product" type="string">Touchpad</merge>
<merge key="input.x11_options.AlwaysCore" type="string">true</merge>
<merge key="input.x11_options.RTCornerButton" type="string">2</merge>
<merge key="input.x11_options.RBCornerButton" type="string">3</merge>
<merge key="input.x11_options.LTCornerButton" type="string">4</merge>