PDA

View Full Version : How do you find the time to learn "everything you want in Ubuntu"?

mikodo
November 4th, 2009, 10:01 AM
Hello everyone,

Of course this is a rhetorical question. I'm new to computers and Ubuntu. I really love it! But in the last year of playing on my rig, (initially with Vista, but no more), I am letting other activities fall by the wayside, including some of my responsibilities. I'm a big person and have begun to attempt balance with "my playing" and the other stuff I need to attend to. Easier said than done though.

So, what works for you?

What guidelines do you attempt to apply in your life to remain balanced?

If this sounds too stupid to respond to; Just consider it the rant of a wannabe geek.

Thanks.

note32
November 4th, 2009, 10:04 AM
takes time something your not gonna learn over night you have to mess around with it for awhile. and when your encounter a problem look it up because in forums youll find some really useful info people have

Elfy
November 4th, 2009, 10:06 AM
moved to cafe

nhasian
November 4th, 2009, 10:15 AM
well your not going to be able to learn everything at once. just learn as you go. personally I like to read books so Ubuntu Unleashed really helped me. the great thing is there is so much documentation already out there on google and the forums. Wanna learn how to setup a DLNA server? web server? how to use the command line? How to setup your wifi adaptor? most likely a few choice words in google will yield the answer your looking for :)

Xbehave
November 4th, 2009, 11:09 AM
http://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/cautionary.png
xkcd (http://xkcd.com/456/) (cc-at-nc (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.5/))

how would i get alt text on the forums? it's "This really is a true story, and she doesn't know I put it in my comic because her wifi hasn't worked for weeks."