The only command I can get to do anything is ls. My XP drive is fully
intact but not backed up in the past week. So there is a lot of
assignments I would really not like to lose. And I wanted to try out
Moblin.

So I made a huge mistake yesterday. I have been using Ubuntu for a few
years now and have converted a few :) but as a student I can't convert
fully yet. I have a little c++ and networking experience but a terminal
window still can get me nervous.

I have a desktop running Ubuntu fulltime and virtual box XP. I love it!

Anyway, anything that you guys can help with would be so appreciated!

dstew
November 3rd, 2009, 08:04 PM
Probably the grub boot loader will not work because the grub.cfg file was removed when you reformatted the Ubuntu partition. Do you want to remove Ubuntu completely, and just boot XP? If so, you can use an XP CD "Recovery Console" and replace the grub boot loader with the XP boot loader. I think the command is FIXMBR.

If you want to keep using grub to boot XP, I am not sure you can do that. The grub boot loader needs to get the bulk of its code from a filesystem somewhere on the disk. The grub 2 manual gives an example of installing grub 2 into a Linux filesystem, using a Linux package manager, but no example of installing it into an NTFS. You might be able to create a small ext3 partition, use a Live CD to install grub into it, and then use that to boot XP.

RndmGuy06
November 3rd, 2009, 08:17 PM
Thanks for the info. I am trying that now but without a cd-drive I am attempting to find iso and converting to boot to a usb. I just finished making an XP system recovery drive and I'll see if it works right now.

If this doesn't work then I would love for you explain the last part of what you just said about a small partition for a linux grub.

I'll be right back...

{Added}