PDA

View Full Version : question about php constructors... easy

oldmanstan
February 16th, 2006, 06:56 AM
Just a really simple, probably not important question...

I never really did much with OOP, I'm not a programmer so I never had a project big enough for it to make a difference. However, I've started playing with it in PHP.

So here's the question, in PHP 5 should I declare __construct and __destruct methods in classes using the protected keyword. It seems like it would be good practice but the tutorials, etc. don't mention it really. Anyway, just curious.

Also, the PHP documentation is a little... well, short. Are there any better online references out there?

Thanks

LordHunter317
February 16th, 2006, 07:04 AM
You should only have protected constructors if you have some special constructor form that you want subclasses to call and you don't want the public to have access to.

Otherwise, child classes can just use the public constructors.

As a general rule, protected methods aren't used very often in any OO language, at least correctly.

I would be curious to know what lead you to this belief.

oldmanstan
February 16th, 2006, 07:08 AM
Well it seemed to make sense that you'd want to hide the constructor from the user (of the class) since it is not necessary (as far as I know) to explicitly call a constructor, it just does it on its own. However, making it private seemed overkill since then child classes couldn't make use of it. Therefore I figured people probably declared them protected.

I'm not a "real" programmer so it's probably just my limited knowledge of OOP showing... :)

LordHunter317
February 16th, 2006, 07:14 AM
Well it seemed to make sense that you'd want to hide the constructor from the user (of the class) since it is not necessary (as far as I know) to explicitly call a constructor, it just does it on its own. Yes, you always call the constructor, when you instaniate the object via new:
class Foo {
private $name