PDA

View Full Version : Is it just me or does everyone want Linux to break.

guriinii
November 3rd, 2009, 12:24 AM
It seems as though, whenever I'm at my laptop, I want it to break so that I can get full use of Ubuntu. Although this is probably illogical, I am unsatisfied when everything works.

I was wondering, as I'm still relatively new to Ubuntu and the wonder that is Terminal, is this normal?

hoppipolla
November 3rd, 2009, 12:32 AM
Totally!! I do this, I am the kind of user who will start a MILLION things at once until the whole system slows to a crawl lol

But see Linux does all this stuff so well anyway, it usually doesn't even break into a sweat :)

Also, it does depend how long you've been using it for, the longer you use it (I find) the more you are happy when things "just work" :)

Spike-X
November 3rd, 2009, 12:33 AM
I'm quite happy with it not breaking. I want to spend my time using my computer, not fixing it. That's why I stopped using Windows in the first place.

NightwishFan
November 3rd, 2009, 12:33 AM
I like to push my hardware to the limits, mainly for benchmark purposes. For example: I have a friend who has an older computer, so I set up Ubuntu to boot using only 400mb of my RAM and a single core of my processor. I could test the responsiveness of the new release and played with the swapiness option to see what had best performance. Oddly enough, having the kernel swap aggressively actually improved performance. On a system with more memory, better performance was achived keeping pages in RAM of course. /geekspeek

As for breaking my system, I doubt I could do so without being root. ;]

FuturePilot
November 3rd, 2009, 12:37 AM
I tend to like when things work. I want to be productive on my computer, not spend all day fixing it.

Though, there is a time and a place for breakage ;)

Regenweald
November 3rd, 2009, 12:38 AM