PDA

View Full Version : Could you suggest a simple, lightweight distro for my folks

yb1011
February 15th, 2006, 11:34 PM
Hey Guys,
First of all I would like to thank all the guys who help us new users. Ive so far managed to fix ALL my problems using the SEARCH tool. And now have a stable, up-to-date system with all the programs I want configured that way I want :D So for all the help...I say THANKS!

Now, Here is my question:
Im a student and I stay away from home (in a diff country). And though I call home, I chat using yahoo and voice using skype is a very important mode of communication between me and my family. I have a decent system so Ubuntu works great on my pc. But this is what my folks have:
A Pentium 2 - 450 Mhz
128Mb shared ram with 32mb alloted to memory
6Gb hard drive
Dialup connection
OS- Windows ME (not working anymore)

So my question to you is, Which OS (Linux) do you guys suggest? Now there is nothing but Ubuntu that I would them to use. But, looking at the system specs I really do not know if it would run at a usable level. So my dear friends, could you suggest any distribution that is simple and works on the above mentioned specs?

So far on Searching I have found that:
1.Ubuntu is too heavy, but Xfce/fluxbox can be a way out
2.DamnSmall Linux is good
3.Puppy Linux runs great and I can create a custom ISO with all the programs custom added to the ISO (?)

I am currently leaning towards Puppy linux as it has the custom Iso feature (since I would have to download/burn the ISO and send it to them I can put all the applications that they would need). But since this is the only place I know that can give me a sincere suggestion..I ask you..what should I do... where should I look? Which distribution would you suggest?

Thank you for your time, suggestions and thoughts.

Bandit
February 15th, 2006, 11:45 PM
If Ubuntu is to heavy, only thing other I can suggest is DSL (Damn Small Linux)
Cheers,
Joey

codejunkie
February 15th, 2006, 11:48 PM