PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Screensaver causes computer to freeze after upgrading from Jaunty 9.04 to Karmic 9.10

lerasch
November 2nd, 2009, 05:15 AM
Upgraded from 9.04 to 9.10. Everything works fine until the screen saver activates. Screen goes blank and system totally freezes. Have to manually turn the computer off.

Went to "System / Preferences / Screensaver" and selected "Feedback" to see what it looked like and caused the system to totally freeze. Now if I go to "System / Preferences / Screensaver" the computer immediately freezes and I have to press the power button to shut the computer down. I can not change any screensaver preferences nor disable the screensaver.

I have a Gateway 500S desktop with a Pentium 4 CPU, 512MB of RAM and an Intel 82845G graphics controller with driver version 6.14.10.3722.

The system worked great with Jaunty Jackalope version 9.04.

I'm a newbie to Ubuntu. Any suggestions for fixing my freezeup problem?

billrad1
November 2nd, 2009, 05:45 AM
I have a similar problem. My computer freezes after a long while with the screensaver running. I have 8 gigs of memory, running the 64 pae kernel.

billad1

lerasch
November 3rd, 2009, 02:31 PM
Fixed the problem by reinstalling version 9.10 from a CD. No more freezeups caused by the screensaver activating.

Topsiho
November 3rd, 2009, 03:14 PM
I guess the freeze is caused by the absence of a file after the upgrade. The screensaver needs the file but can not find it anymore. It should report this, but it doesn't. It just searches for something that's not there, but used to be. So two errors here: one in the upgrade process and one in the screensaver.

Personally I have become very wary of screensavers, as almost all freezes that I have experienced so far (in Linux) were caused by (some) screensavers.

Topsiho

kgarbutt
November 3rd, 2009, 07:43 PM