PDA

View Full Version : Strange JAVA compiling problem on new Karmic install

kfsorensen
November 2nd, 2009, 02:55 AM
Hello,

I'm having an extremely strange problem on the new install of Karmic Koala on my desktop machine. My laptop machine, also running Karmic (but an alpha version) doesn't have the same problem, and I simply cannot figure out why.

I'm trying to compile my Java programs. They utilize the Java Open GL (JOGL) libraries to render graphics in 3D (a whole 'nother problem I'm having in Ubuntu).

They won't compile, but here's what's totally confusing. I set my .bashrc file just exactly the same way on my desktop as on my laptop, to include the JOGL files that I need in the compile, but when I go to compile, I get all of the error messages from the compiler indicating that it can't find the class files.

I'm no Java newbie (been coding in Java for 10 years) and I've seen this message and know what it means, but I cannot figure out WHY Java can't find these classes.

I've got my JOGL classes loaded in a directory: /home/kirk/jogl111a

The files are in the "lib" directory: /home/kirk/jogl111a/lib

So my .bashrc file reads like this:

CLASSPATH=$CLASSPATH:/home/kirk/jogl111a/lib/jogl.jar:/home/kirk/jogl111a/lib/gluegen-rt.jar

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/kirk/jogl111a/lib/

When I query the CLASSPATH and the LD_LIBRARY_PATH, I get this:

kirk@HPdesktop:~$ echo $CLASSPATH
:/home/kirk/jogl111a/lib/jogl.jar:/home/kirk/jogl111a/lib/gluegen-rt.jar

and

kirk@HPdesktop:~$ echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
/opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/046/lib/ia32:/opt/intel/Compiler/11.1/046/mkl/lib/32:/home/kirk/jogl111a/lib/

which seem to indicate that the necessary .jar files are in the classpath, but when I compile, it acts as if they are not there. Any ideas why this doesn't work, and why the EXACT SAME code compiles fine on my other machine?

terry_a_g
November 2nd, 2009, 03:14 AM
Try removing $CLASSPATH in