PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.10 install problem

easygrip
November 1st, 2009, 12:10 PM
I am having problems installing 9.10, it boots fine from the live cd but after install get message error: no such device: 7cad0fc4-e15b-4d08-b9c6-d7f01469dc50 previously had linux mint installed with no problems. I am brand new to linux

PorkyPie
November 1st, 2009, 12:12 PM
Try re-installing ubuntu.

easygrip
November 1st, 2009, 01:06 PM
have tried reinstalling several times, no help. downloaded 9.10 again, new install disk, same result. reinstalled linux mint, no problems.

PorkyPie
November 1st, 2009, 01:14 PM
Odd... What are the specs of your system?

easygrip
November 1st, 2009, 01:25 PM
Shuttle AK31 motherboard AMD athlon 1.7 processor, ATI radeon 9600, 1 gig ram, turtle beach santa cruz sound card

Unchqua
November 1st, 2009, 05:54 PM
Wild guess: aren't you using any RAID configuration either software (BIOS) or hardware (motherboard embedded)? If so, try to disable everything RAID-related, it may be that during installation a system remembers one drive identities while after booting into already installed OS it can't find them due to another way of reading hardware configuration.

exiter
November 1st, 2009, 07:30 PM
Unplugging the drives don't help :(
I'll try turning it off in the BIOS.
I have an older IDE raid setup...

I have been at this all night...

:popcorn:

emacdonald
November 1st, 2009, 09:48 PM
Not sure if your problem is exactly the same as I had, but I spent quite a a while on this one, then I found the bug listed in the link below.

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...ty/+bug/459054 is the bug in question!

My work around was, while running under the live CD, to go into Synaptic, search for "dmraid" remove it completely, then do the install by selecting the desktop icon.

As soon as I removed dmraid, everything installed correctly Gparted worked ok etc.