PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ahh! Can't get Flash Player loaded 9.10

LoneWolf08
November 1st, 2009, 12:33 AM
Ok tried the little automatic "install missing plugings" thingy when prompted in Firefox but it tells me it can't find ANY of the packages. What?

So then I went to Adobe Flash Player download site and pulled down ALL available options. Followed their instructions for all. Jack sh*t for me.

I'm fairly new to linux so I really dont know what I'm doing wrong. Please help me abandon Apple (wanna be linux) and Windows!

Schendje
November 1st, 2009, 12:37 AM
Easiest way to install Flash is to install the Ubuntu Restricted Extras. They're in the Software Center, or otherwise do:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

In a terminal.

It'll also install some other codecs, mp3 support, Java stuff, etc.

Welcome to Linux, btw! :D

X1R1
November 1st, 2009, 12:39 AM
have you installed ubuntu restricted extras package? If not go to the software center, search for it, and install. the try if your flash works :D

Schendje: Damn you typed faster than me!! lol

aysiu
November 1st, 2009, 12:43 AM
This should help you (includes screenshots):
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/flash

jorgevazq
November 1st, 2009, 01:00 AM
Ok tried the little automatic "install missing plugings" thingy when prompted in Firefox but it tells me it can't find ANY of the packages. What?

So then I went to Adobe Flash Player download site and pulled down ALL available options. Followed their instructions for all. Jack sh*t for me.

I'm fairly new to linux so I really dont know what I'm doing wrong. Please help me abandon Apple (wanna be linux) and Windows!

You should try this:

First type in your Firefox bar
" About:plugins " (whithout the quotations, the :p is actually ":"p, but the forum recognizes it as a smiley :S )

Then, locate the section Shockwave Flash (if you don't have it, better).

Here comes an IF: