PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Karmic failed upgrade rescue

poctob
October 31st, 2009, 02:32 PM
Well I tried to upgrade my Jaunty system to Karmic. I've been using Ubuntu for several years and didn't expect any problems. I forgot that nobody repealed Murphy's law yet.

First issues were a long time and slow speed for the packages to download. No problem. I figured that servers are overloaded with a lot of people upgrading. I left it running overnight and most of the day Friday. When I got home I was happy to see that the install has started. I had a Pam.d dialog on the screen that wanted me to restart some services. Here comes the fun part - keyboard and mouse no longer worked, so I could not click on any buttons. No CTRL+ALT+F7, no CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE, no CRTL+ALT+DELETE, nothing. I tried another keyboard and mouse, I even dug out an old PS/2 keyboard, still no luck. Looks like upgrade process turned off some service like a hotplug or hald. I could see that my machine wasn't locked since a system monitor applet was occasionally showing network activity. I had ssh server turned off as well. So I am in a middle of upgrade and have no way of continuing since I don't have an access to the machine.
I crossed my fingers and powered it off. Finger crossing didn't help, machine would not get past first part of the kernel init.

Rescue time. I downloaded and burned Karmic Install CD on my laptop and booted into the live session. Next thing I did was to mount my existing partitions. First I opened a terminal, became root and created a mount point:

$ sudo su
# mkdir newroot

I needed to find my original partitions:

# ls /dev/sd*
/dev/sda /dev/sda1 /dev/sda2 /dev/sda5 /dev/sda6 /dev/sda7 /dev/sda8 /dev/sda9 /dev/sdb /dev/sdb1

I remembered to have my system on separate partitions but I could not remember the numbers. So by trial and error I found one with a root and mounted it:

#mount /dev/sda6 newroot

Next I mounted my other partitions: