PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 9.10 won't fully shut down

James2k
October 30th, 2009, 10:24 PM
Im new to Ubuntu and only recently began using it as an OS properly so please bare with me on my explaination of my problem. Basically I have a Compaq Presario CQ60-307EA laptop and started using Ubuntu on 9.04 (Not long before Karmic Koala hit the scene) I upgraded from 9.04 to 9.10 but when I read the complete change log I decided I should format and start fresh which I have done with no problem.

The problem I've come across is that when I come to shutdown Ubuntu through the GUI it doesn't fully shut down, what I mean by that is Ubuntu disappears some random text comes up and then my screen goes blank but the laptop doesn't power off just hangs with no screen display showing anything. The power light is still on along with my wireless LED. But the twist to the tale is when I use the shutdown method from within command line:

sudo shutdown -h nowThe laptop does indeed fully power down. Just when I choose shutdown from the GUI it hangs. It seems to be a problem with just shutting down as I can reboot within in Ubuntu fine.

My laptops setup is a dual boot configuration, I have Windows 7 and Ubuntu 9.10 but I also have a D:/ drive which is the recovery drive for Vista when I had Vista home basic installed not sure if that helps anyone at all.

Not sure if this has been reported in 9.10 already, if so I apologise and hope someone can direct me to a fix.

Thanks for reading and any help given :)

Just want to add: I never had any problems with shutting down in 9.04 the only problem I had was with waking my laptop up when Ubuntu was suspended or had been in hibernation, though from what I read this was a wide spread problem and has been fixed (For me anyway) in 9.10 just this pesky shut down issue!

- James

benrb
October 30th, 2009, 10:29 PM
I have the same problem with an HP desktop. Didn't have this problem with 9.04.

James2k
October 30th, 2009, 10:41 PM