PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Another 9.04 to 9.10 error

Denton Larson
October 30th, 2009, 08:49 PM
Hi everyone

I have a problem, I had 9.04 and it worked fine, and figured I could load 9.10 and go on, big mistake.:(

It took forever to download 9.10, the next morning it was ready to restart, then I got some flashing and SLOOW to type in my username and password.

I managed to get in a root prompt and this is what I have
Mount of Filesystem failed.
A maintenance shell will now be started.
CONTROL-D will terminate this shell and re-try
Give root password for maintenance
(or type Control-D to continue):

I entered the password after alot of guessing, and got this
root@dlarson-desktop:~#

I did a ls and got
Desktop

I am copying this to my laptop I have.
HELP PLEASE! I am new to Ubuntu I have only had it going for about a year.

Denton Larson
WB0ZUR

XDevHald
October 30th, 2009, 08:59 PM
From the looks of it the install did not complete and could be because of downloading failure for certain packages. I would recommend re-installing Ubuntu as the Mount drive is not recognized or found at all.

Sorry to see you're going through this as it doesn't happen often.

schroedl
October 30th, 2009, 09:10 PM
I went through this exact same problem and are stuck with it. I was able to log in, but it didn't do anything. Now my filesystem won't mount. What happened was my computer froze somewhere last night during the upgrade while I was sleeping. I think it froze while the computer was removing some packages. I'm worried about loosing the files. Is there a way to access the files now? I got the maintenance shell as well with the control-d thing, but it was after that when my filesystems stopped mounting all together.

Chow7
October 30th, 2009, 09:18 PM