PDA

View Full Version : Mono Problem with Labels and Text in 9.10



weaver4
October 30th, 2009, 08:30 PM
I wrote a very simple program using Visual Studio (on my WinXP box) that simply had a button on a form that moved text to a textbox when it was pressed.

I moved the exe file to Ubuntu 9.10 and ran it and the Window showed up but the button label was missing. No text shows up on any control.

I did install libmono-winform* and freetype from synaptic.

This was working with Ubuntu 9.04

Any ideas?

directhex
October 31st, 2009, 01:31 AM
Could it be something as simple as the font?

The Bard sRc
October 31st, 2009, 06:39 AM
I'm having the same problem as well. it had been working fine previously in 9.04, after a reinstall with 9.10 though, blank menus, button labels, and tooltips

weaver4
October 31st, 2009, 06:47 PM
I tried common fonts, plus you would expect that Mono would give an error if it could not find a font.

directhex
October 31st, 2009, 07:49 PM
Can you post a screenshot? Or, even better, the assembly?

weaver4
October 31st, 2009, 08:59 PM
Can't figure out how to paste a picture here. But It is a simple form with a TextBox and two buttons. The Text in the TextBox shows up, but the two buttons are completely blank; no text in them.

The Bard sRc
October 31st, 2009, 10:36 PM
here's how one of the things I use looks (ehh http://castletilemaped.svn.sourceforge.net if you want the code) :

http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/2238/screenshot1mj.png

it's supposed to look like this: http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/6042/35006732.jpg

but that's only one example, all of the .NET assemblies I've tried do it. had been working just fine in 9.04

Paedie
October 31st, 2009, 11:42 PM
I have the same problem, there are no error message, I just get the program without the text.

directhex
November 1st, 2009, 02:20 AM
Oh. Hrm... that's odd. I don't think it's Mono itself, as the same packages on Jaunty don't have that issue - probably one of the X libraries has changed & Mono doesn't deal with it

weaver4
November 1st, 2009, 02:31 AM
I believe mono in 9.04 was version 2.0 and mono in 9.10 is 2.5.

So mono has changed.

directhex
November 1st, 2009, 03:52 AM
I believe mono in 9.04 was version 2.0 and mono in 9.10 is 2.5.

So mono has changed.

2.4.2.3

And I was running backports of those packages for months.

weaver4
November 1st, 2009, 04:01 PM
So you were using mono 2.4.2.3 on Ubuntu 9.04 and did not see this problem?

Were you running a program that uses the windows forms library. The reason I ask is that I tried F-Spot.exe under mono in Ubuntu 9.10 and it did not have a problem, but I think it uses GDI for its graphics.

Thanks for correcting my version info.

directhex
November 1st, 2009, 11:26 PM
So you were using mono 2.4.2.3 on Ubuntu 9.04 and did not see this problem?

Were you running a program that uses the windows forms library. The reason I ask is that I tried F-Spot.exe under mono in Ubuntu 9.10 and it did not have a problem, but I think it uses GDI for its graphics.

Thanks for correcting my version info.

Yes, I routinely use a winforms app to run comparisons between assembly versions, so winforms was tested (and 2.4.2.3 is fine in Debian)

It's something specific to Ubuntu 9.10, and I don't know what

directhex
November 2nd, 2009, 10:56 AM
Not as clear-cut as I thought - works fine on this (Karmic AMD64) PC, but not my (Karmic AMD64) laptop

What graphics driver are you using?

geekabit
November 2nd, 2009, 11:32 AM
I made a minimal example to show the problem.

debian squeeze / sid i386 -> no text
ubuntu 9.04 i386 -> text
ubuntu 9.10 i386 -> no text
winxp i386 -> text

geekabit
November 2nd, 2009, 12:23 PM
It seems to be a video driver problem. More info on Novell's bugtracker: https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=549882

directhex
November 2nd, 2009, 12:42 PM
It seems to be a video driver problem. More info on Novell's bugtracker: https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=549882

Yup yup, the laptop which misbehaves is Intel - My desktops (and the desktop of a Debian guy I asked to test) are NVIDIA

geekabit
November 2nd, 2009, 02:20 PM
Same thing here. My desktop has an Intel 82915G/GV/910GL controller, my laptop has an Intel 915GM/GMS/910GML controller. Both have the same problem.
xserver-xorg-video-intel 2:2.6.3-0ubuntu9.3 (Ubuntu 9.04) works, xserver-xorg-video-intel 2:2.9.0-1ubuntu2 (Ubuntu 9.10) does not work.
Hopefully Ubuntu will have an updated driver soon.

weaver4
November 2nd, 2009, 03:21 PM
It is my understanding from Bugzilla that xserver-xorg-video-intel 2:2.9.1 will work and you can download it here:

http://intellinuxgraphics.org/

But the installation instructions here do not work:

http://intellinuxgraphics.org/install.html

If these packages are available, building should be as simple as:
$ ./autogen
$ make
$ sudo -c "make install"

In the first step there is no file "autogen" in the package.

Can someone help me figure out how to install this package?

The README found in the package is no help.

Thanks

directhex
November 2nd, 2009, 03:59 PM
It is my understanding from Bugzilla that xserver-xorg-video-intel 2:2.9.1 will work and you can download it here:

http://intellinuxgraphics.org/

But the installation instructions here do not work:

http://intellinuxgraphics.org/install.html

If these packages are available, building should be as simple as:
$ ./autogen
$ make
$ sudo -c "make install"

In the first step there is no file "autogen" in the package.

Can someone help me figure out how to install this package?

The README found in the package is no help.

Thanks

Anything with "make install" in it is highly likely to hose your system if you don't know exactly what you're doing. I'd wait a little - once the driver is in Lucid, then something can be done about Karmic. The bug relating to this issue is filed against the package

weaver4
November 2nd, 2009, 04:10 PM
This is work related, either I have to get 9.10 working with mono or go back to 9.04. I thought it would be easier to try this than go back. I will cost me a full day to reinstall everything on 9.04.

The Bard sRc
November 2nd, 2009, 06:35 PM
oh goody, so it's another Intel related problem. this little Eee is turning out to be a lot more pain than it's worth.

weaver4
November 2nd, 2009, 10:02 PM
I found this very helpful; but I did have to reboot.

http://www.nanowrimo.org/eng/node/3373197

geekabit
November 3rd, 2009, 09:24 AM
Works for me. Thanks weaver4!

geekabit
November 3rd, 2009, 11:17 AM
I didn't have to reboot. Log out and log in seems to do the trick as well.