PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Upgrade from 9.04 to 9.10 has corrupted window frames and taskbar

fatboab
October 30th, 2009, 03:49 PM
I upgraded from 9.04 to 9.10 this morning via the Alternate CD. I then did an apt-get upgrade as things didn't appear to have upgraded. I am now left with a desktop that looks like the following (http://www.bobarnott.com/tmp/screen.png). Short of reinstalling, how do I get these bits to render correcytly?

Cheers,

cmetzger4
October 30th, 2009, 05:12 PM
I'm having the same issue.

I did a clean install of Kubuntu 9.10 on a Dell GX260 and my menu bar at the bottom of my screen in distorted and any window that is opened has a distorted bar at the top. Your screenshot is almost identical to what I am seeing.

I'm guessing there maybe a video driver issue, but 1) I'm a complete Linux noob so I could be way off assuming that, and 2) I can't play around with any of the settings because I can't read anything on the distorted menus.

Any insight would be appreciated.

fatboab
October 30th, 2009, 05:17 PM
I'm guessing there maybe a video driver issue, but 1) I'm a complete Linux noob so I could be way off assuming that, and 2) I can't play around with any of the settings because I can't read anything on the distorted menus.

I'm running an old ATI card and I've confirmed that I'm running the correct driver. I did instal lthe lastest KDE via backports, but I did that on my laptop to and it upgraded fine. It's a nightmare as you can't see anything on the application launcher of quick launcher I don't know thje names of any of the apps directly to open them and see what's going on.

I'm backing everything up at the moment and will probably do a clean install...

Cheers,

cmetzger4
October 30th, 2009, 05:29 PM
The video card in this PC is an ATI Radeon.

fatboab
October 30th, 2009, 07:52 PM