PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Vsync in Linux:

Oranges10e
October 30th, 2009, 02:03 AM
Hello, right to the point: I am new to Ubuntu, well, new = been around for a few months now. I have acutally managed to install Ubuntu on a few systems, especially on those of my friends and fam. but now I am facing something different. My school wanted me to show them Ubuntu, because I suggested it. Beeing the only one that has, as far as I can tell, ever done this, they told me to show them what it's about. Long story, told short: they like it but they need fluid and nice vsync'd video. Which works fine, unless you activate compiz or any nice looking effects. On a small LCD it is not such a big deal but on a huge wall (at a good quality), it's just too difficult not to notice it.

So, here I am, asking this: who else would like a combination of good (3d?) desktop-effects AND vsync enabled by default on windows AND videos - no more tearing in other words, no matter where and why? Is it a good idea? Maybe you don't care about it, maybe you do. I sure do. Other OS's can do it without problems, why should the Nr.1 Linux distro be missing? This is something that even WindowsXP and especially the newer Vista and Windows 7 have. It's a shame beeing forced to go down and use Meta, just to watch something without the screen getting teared in to pieces, ya know? ;D :popcorn:

Thank you for your time.

Edit: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/compiz/+bug/212587?comments=all <- for more information on this "bug".
Oranges

Amaranth
October 30th, 2009, 03:00 AM
I've already told you, this is simply not possible right now. We'd all love to love to have it but our drivers and Xorg lack the capability.

Странник
October 30th, 2009, 07:47 AM
+1

Developers should work on that

jonasback
October 30th, 2009, 09:32 AM