PDA

View Full Version : What would be the best distro for a netbook with an extremly slow ssd?

Borjs85
October 29th, 2009, 12:34 PM
Hi guys,

My mother owns an Acer Aspire One (I think it's the first one, with an awful 8GB SSD). She is using Windows XP and it's a nightmare: seems that everything's going in slow motion. I'm going to change her OS. Before installing Ubuntu or other distro I'd like to ask you what would be the best distro (user friendly) for a netbook with this big limitation (SSD)

Thanks a lot (and if I have kicked english dictionary, sorry, I'm from Spain and I am not very good at english)

PorkyPie
October 29th, 2009, 12:36 PM
Have you checked out ubuntu netbook remix? http://www.ubuntu.com/GetUbuntu/download-netbook

karimruan
October 29th, 2009, 12:38 PM
Hi guys,

My mother owns an Acer Aspire One (I think it's the first one, with an awful 8GB SSD). She is using Windows XP and it's a nightmare: seems that everything's going in slow motion. I'm going to change her OS. Before installing Ubuntu or other distro I'd like to ask you what would be the best distro (user friendly) for a netbook with this big limitation (SSD)

Thanks a lot (and if I have kicked english dictionary, sorry, I'm from Spain and I am not very good at english)

Well, you could always try Xubuntu, it is designed for machines with low specs such as your mothers netbook. If you want, you can try Damn Small Linux or Puppy Linux (Puppy has at least 50 different versions all over the net, even ones that look like mac osx). The problem with Puppy is that it has very little hardware support, especially for wireless (at least when I used it). DSL (Damn Small Linux) is debian based, so you can add as many .debs as you want, and turn it into a full blown desktop OS if you want. DSL is like 60 MB to download, so it is fast as he!!.

I would recommend trying Xubuntu first.

karimruan
October 29th, 2009, 12:39 PM