PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot with Win7

Musket
October 29th, 2009, 09:19 AM
Hi, I am new to Linux so be gentle with me. I have a new install of Windows 7 64 bit and want to do a dual boot. In the past I have always used a different version of windows for the alternative operating system but would like to see what this Linux stuff is all about. When Karmic Koala is released later today, will a dual boot with that be easy. I have a seperate hard drive that I want to use for Linux. I do not want it on my win7 disk. Any offer of advice would be helpful. I do not want ro risk damaging my installation of win7, It took me a whole day to install all my software and settings. Thanks

Robbartz
October 29th, 2009, 10:23 AM
If you're that worried you could always get 2 drive cradles so that youre Win7 system is on one and the karmic Koala on the other. You can then just remove the Win7 drive from the cradle and insert the other.

Drice cradles are very cheap and easy to install.

Lateralis
October 29th, 2009, 10:56 AM
First and foremost, installing Ubuntu onto a hard drive that already has Windows is quite safe. You won't lose anything from Windows, so long as you don't delete it! If you're worried about hard disk space or aren't confident in dual booting using the same hard drive, then don't do it even if it is quite straight forward and painless. And I daresay there are some people here who would help guide you through this process if you wanted it.